Kendrick Lamar Drops Tracklist For Upcoming Album, ‘To Pimp A Butterfly’

With Kendrick season upon us in the form of his sophomore album, To Pimp A Butterfly, the TDE rapper has unleashed the tracklist for the opus (at the time of this writing, the tracks are still untitled on iTunes).

Judging from the album cover and the song titles, fans are in for some ear-opening tunes! Kendrick has already made a major statement with the singles “i” and “The Blacker The Berry,” and with other titles such as “King Kunta,” “Institutionalized,” and “How Much a Dollar Cost,” looks like we’re in for a thought-provoking ride.

About the album, Kendrick told Rolling Stone, “[It’s] honest, fearful and unapologetic. You take a black kid out of Compton and put him in the limelight, and you find answers about yourself you never knew you were searching for,” he said. “There’s some stuff in there, man. It’s a roller coaster. It builds.”

To Pimp A Butterfly is due out on March 23. Peep the tracklist below and preorder above.

1. “Wesley’s Theory”
2. “For Free? (Interlude)”
3. “King Kunta”
4. “Institutionalized”
5. “These Walls”
6. “U”
7. “Alright”
8. “For Sale? (Interlude)”
9. “Momma”
10. “Hood Politics”
11. “How Much a Dollar Cost”
12. “Complexion”
13. “The Blacker the Berry”
14. “You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)”
15. “i”
16. “Mortal Man”