Martin Luther, Dead Prez, Chuck D Unite for Evolutionary Minded

Martin Luther, Dead Prez, and Chuck D are some of the artists who took part in an ensemble project entitled Evolutionary Minded. The record is inspired by Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson, two artists viewed as the forefathers of socially-conscious rap. The album is a collaboration between vocalists, beatboxer, spoken word, rappers backed by a band.

"This music isn't mine, and the minute I start trying to own it, it's all over. It's my responsibility to pass on what I've learned. That's living the tradition," said executive producer Brian Jackson.

The album, Kentyah presents: M1, Brian Jackson & The New Midnight Band: Evolutionary Minded, will be released by Motema Music on September 10th, 2013.

Album Tracklist:

1. Offering
2. All We Got (Ft. M1, Martin Luther)
3. Voice of the People (Ft. Juma Sultan)
4. Liberation Psychology (Ft. Bobby Seale , M1)
5. Opponent ( Ft. Dead Prez, Martin Luther)
6. Winter In America (Ft. Martin Luther, M1)
7. …it's a time warp
8. Go Ahead On Bobby (Ft. Bobby Seale )
9. Young Blood (Ft. Dead Prez, Blackbyrd McKnight)
10. Recurring Cycles (Ft. M1)
11. Losin' Our Minds (Ft. Gregory Porter)
12. Headhunters
13. Occupy Planet Earth (Ft. Chuck D, M1)
14. Uncle Sammy Full of Lucifer (Ft. Bobby Seale )
15. Re(Evolution) (Ft. Chuck D, Killah Priest)
16. Unknown Variables Ahead
17. Tradition (Ft. Abiodun Oyewole)
18. Song of the Wind (Ft. Gregory Porter, Airto)


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →