May 2009 R&B Album Releases Revealed

After months of anticipation several R&B/Pop infused albums are finally going to be available for purchase at both retail and digital outlets this May. Among those albums is the “Princess of R&B/Hip Hop” Ciara’s long-awaited disc “Fantasy Ride;” Chrisette Michele’s sophomore album “Epiphany;” and Ruben Studdard’s “Love IS”. Kicking off the month, Ciara’s “Fantasy Ride” makes its way to stores featuring the buzz worthy singles “Never Ever” and “Love Sex Magic” along with 2008s buzz record “Go Girl”. The album, also Ciara’s third studio effort, features a roster of heavyweights including Missy Elliott, Ludacris, Young Jeezy, Justin Timberlake and T-Pain. As reported recently, Ciara’s “Fantasy Ride” will feature, despite the controversy surrounding it, the Chris Brown assisted track “Turntables” in addition to The-Dream’s collaborative effort with Ci-Ci on “Lover’s Thing”. Also joining Ciara’s “Fantasy Ride,” in stores May 5, is Chrisette Michele’s sophomore album titled “Epiphany”. The album, on the heels of Michele’s first Grammy Award, was a new beginning of sorts for Michele who has parted ways with her original management and teamed with producers/songwriters including Ne-Yo, Chuck Harmony and Claude Kelly. Michele’s “Epiphany” features songs like “What You Do (feat. Ne-YO),” Notebook” and the title track “Epiphany (I’m Leaving)”. Other notable releases on tap for this month include Ruben Studdard’s post J Records album “Love IS” and Lionel Richie’s “Go”. Here is run through of releases by date, including tracklistings where available. ** dates, tracklistings subject to change. Tuesday, May 5 Ciara “Fantasy Ride” * a special edition of this album includes a DVD featuring behind the scenes footage and music videos for “Love Sex Magic,” “Never Ever,” and “Go Girl”. Tracklisting: 1. Ciara To The Stage 2. Love Sex Magic (feat. Justin Timberlake) 3. High Price (feat. Ludacris) 4. Turntables (feat. Chris Brown) 5. Like A Surgeon 6. Never Ever (feat. Young Jeezy) 7. Lover’s Thing (feat. The-Dream) 8. Work (feat. Missy Elliott) 9. Pucker Up 10. G Is For Girl 11. Keep Dancin’ On Me 12. Tell Me What Your Name Is 13. I Don’t Remember Chrisette Michele “Epiphany” Tracklisting: 1. Epiphany (I’m Leaving) 2. Notebook 3. What You Do (feat. Ne-Yo) 4. Blame It on Me 5. All I Ever Think About 6. Playin’ Our Song 7. Another One 8. On My Own 9. Fragile 10. Mr. Right 11. Porcelain Doll 12. I’m Okay May 19 * also in stores Busta Rhymes “Back on My B.S.” and Eminem’s “Relapse” Ruben Studdard “Love IS” Tracklisting: 1. Together 2. More Than Words 3. Song For Her 4. How You Make Me Feel 5. Don’t Make `Em Like U No More 6. I Can’t Help It 7. Just Because 8. My Love is a Rock 9. The Long and Winding Road 10. For the Good Times 11. We Got Love (That’s Enough) 12. Footprints in the Sand 13. Wet Pillows (Bonus track) Lionel Richie “Just Go” features production from Tricky Stewart, Stargate, Akon, The-Dream, Ne-Yo and Johnta Austin. Tracklisting: 1. Forever 2. Just Go (ft. Akon) 3. Nothing Left To Give (ft. Akon) 4. Forever And A Day 5. I’m Not Okay 6. Good Morning 7. Through My Eyes 8. I’m In Love 9. Think Of You 10. Into You Deep 11. Pastime 12. Face In The Crowd 13. Somewhere In London 14. Eternity Coming Soon: The following releases are expected for Summer 2009 release, as always this is subject to change. – Ginuwine – Le Toya Luckett (TBA) – Trey Songz “Ready” – Electrik Red


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →