Young Jeezy Taps Trey Songz and Anthony Hamilton For “The Recession”

Although Young Jeezy’s album out today is titled “The Recession,” the album itself is jam packed with heavy hitters including R&B singers Trey Songz and Anthony Hamilton. Riding on the hit summer anthem “Put On” featuring Kanye West, Young Jeezy says “If you don’t remain hungry, you’ll be left with nothing,” referencing the title of his album during a time where gas, energy, food, and housing costs have skyrocketed. “It doesn’t matter who you are or how much money you make . . . life is difficult for everybody these days.” Economizing on “The Recession,” Jeezy went for unknown or under the radar producers instead of shelling out the funds for heavyhitters like Pharell Williams, Timbaland and Swizz Beatz. In the end Jeezy opted to spend his production budget on relative unknowns such as DJ Squeeky, Midnight Black, Drumma Boy, DJ Pain and Shawty Redd. “Chossing them sticks with the whole recession concept. I wanted young, hungry producers…and that’s what I got,” he says. Despite the fact that he skipped major producers, Jeezy still teamed up with some of the best in the game including Nas on “My President,” Kanye West on “Put On”, Trey Songz on “Takin’ It There” and Anthony Hamilton on “Everything.” “This album is my opinion of what’s going on in the world right now,” Jeezy says. “For that to work, I couldn’t have too many guests.”


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →