And the R&B Nominations For the 47th NAACP Image Awards Are…

The 47th Annual NAACP Image Awards will take place on February 5, 2016, and the nominees were announced today (Dec. 8).

The noms were announced by Guillermo Díaz (Scandal), Tika Sumpter (The Haves and the Have Nots), Danielle Nicolet (Born Again Virgin), Marsai Martin (Black-ish), and Miles Brown (Black-ish) from The Paley Center in Beverly Hills, CA.

In the music categories, Janet Jackson, “Empire”/Jussie Smollett, and Jazmine Sullivan are big contenders this year: Jackson has six, “Empire”/Jussie Smollett has four, and Jazmine Sullivan has two nominations.

Pharrell is nominated for Entertainer Of The Year, along with ballerina Misty Copeland, actor Michael B. Jordan, TV producer and writer Shonda Rhimes and actress Viola Davis.

“The Image Awards celebrates individuals who model principles of hard work, perseverance, and community empowerment and with the announcement of this year's nominees the NAACP continues to spotlight the achievements of those in our community,” stated Roslyn M. Brock, Chairman of the NAACP National Board of Directors in a press release. "We have enjoyed a great collaboration with TV One and look forward to working with them again this year to create a memorable evening of entertainment.”

The NAACP Image Awards celebrates the accomplishments of people of color in the fields of television, music, literature and film and also honors individuals or groups who promote social justice through creative endeavors. Tune in for the live broadcast on TV ONE on Friday, February 5, 2016 at 9pm/8c for the two-hour special. A one-hour pre-show will air live from the red carpet at 8pm/7c.

Peep the list of musical nominees below, and head on over to for the full list and more info.

Outstanding New Artist

• Andra Day (Warner Bros. Records)

• Judith Hill (NPG Records)

• Jussie Smollett (Columbia Records)

• The Weeknd (Republic Records)

• Yazz (Columbia Records)

Outstanding Male Artist

• Charlie Wilson (RCA Records)

• Kendrick Lamar (Top Dawg Entertainment/Aftermath/Interscope)

• Pharrell Williams (Columbia Records/iamOTHER)

• The Weeknd (Republic Records)

• Tyrese Gibson (Voltron Recordz)

Outstanding Female Artist

• Janet Jackson (Rhythm Nation/BMG)

• Jazmine Sullivan (RCA Records)

• Jill Scott (Atlantic Records)

• Lalah Hathaway (Hathaway Entertainment/Entertainment One)

• Lauryn Hill (RCA Records)

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration

  • "Conqueror" – Empire Cast feat. Estelle & Jussie Smollett (Columbia Records)
  • "Hamilton: An American Musical" – Original Broadway Cast (Atlantic Records)
  • "No Sleeep" – Janet Jackson feat. J. Cole (Rhythm Nation/BMG)
  • "One Man Can Change The World" – Big Sean feat. Kanye West and John Legend (G.O.O.D. Music/Def Jam Recordings)
  • "Sound & Color" – Alabama Shakes (ATO Records)

Outstanding Jazz Album

  • "BrotherLEE Love: Celebrating Lee Morgan" – Terell Stafford Quintet (Capri Records)
  • "Dee Dee's Feathers" – Dee Dee Bridgewater, Irvin Mayfield, New Orleans Jazz Orchestra (Okeh)
  • "Miles Davis at Newport 1955-1975: The Bootleg Series Vol. 4" – Miles Davis (Columbia/Legacy Recordings)
  • "The Complete Concert By The Sea" – Erroll Garner (Legacy Recordings/Octave Music Publishing Corporation)
  • The Epic" – Kamasi Washington (Brainfeeder)

Outstanding Gospel Album – (Traditional or Contemporary)

• "A Different Place" – Kim Burrell (Shanachie Entertainment)

• "It's Personal" – Tina Campbell (Gee Tree Creative)

• "Losing My Religion" – Kirk Franklin (RCA Inspiration)

• "The Gospel According To Jazz – Chapter IV" – Kirk Whalum (Mack Avenue Records, Rendezvous, Top Drawer Records)

• "You Shall Live" – Marvin Sapp (RCA Inspiration)

Outstanding Music Video

• "Can't Feel My Face" – The Weeknd (Republic Records)

• "Freedom" – Pharrell Williams (Columbia Records/iamOTHER)

• "No Sleeep" – Janet Jackson feat. J. Cole (Rhythm Nation/BMG)

• "Shame" – Tyrese Gibson (Voltron Recordz)

• "Sound & Color" – Alabama Shakes (ATO Records)

Outstanding Song – Traditional

• "Back Together" – Jill Scott (Atlantic Records)

• "Everytime I'm With You" – Seal (Reprise Records)

• "Feeling Good" – Lauryn Hill (RCA Records)

• "Goodnight Kisses" – Charlie Wilson (RCA Records)

• "Let It Burn" – Jazmine Sullivan (RCA Records)

Outstanding Album

  • "Beauty Behind the Madness" – The Weeknd (Republic Records)
  • "Empire (Original Soundtrack from Season One)" – Empire Cast (Columbia Records)
  • "Forever Charlie" – Charlie Wilson (RCA Records)
  • "Unbreakable" – Janet Jackson (Rhythm Nation/BMG)
  • "Woman" – Jill Scott (Atlantic Records)

Outstanding Song – Contemporary

  • "Conqueror" – Empire Cast feat. Estelle & Jussie Smollett (Columbia)
  • "Freedom" – Pharrell Williams (Columbia Records/iamOTHER)
  • "No Sleeep" – Janet Jackson feat. J. Cole (Rhythm Nation/BMG)
  • "Unbreakable" – Janet Jackson (Rhythm Nation/BMG)