Sam Smith Drops New Song ‘Drowning Shadows,’ Preps ‘ITLH’ Re-Release

Sam Smith’s debut album, In the Lonely Hour, was so popular (with nine million records sold worldwide) that the set will get a re-issue on Nov. 6th and this song, "Drowning Shadows," will grace the project.

It’s a melancholy ballad Smith said he wrote a few years ago and is “the saddest song he’s ever written.” He told Zane Lowe of Apple’s Beats 1 Radio show the song was written during a time of confusion. “One would lead to gay clubs and one would go home. I was in such a lonely sad place, I’d have to decide whether to stay out or go home,” he explained.

The reissue of In the Lonely Hour will consist of two discs complete with live performances, covers, and revamped duets, and the pre-album released song, “Nirvana.”

Stream “Drowning Shadows” and peep the tracklisting for In the Lonely Hour (Drowning Shadows Edition) below:

Disc 1

1. “Money On My Mind”
2. “Good Thing”
3. “Stay With Me”
4. “Leave Your Lover”
5. “I’m Not The Only One”
6. “I’ve Told You Now”
7. “Like I Can”
8. “Life Support”
9. “Not In That Way”
10. “Lay Me Down”
11. “Restart”
12. “Latch (Acoustic)”
13. “La La La”
14. “Make It to Me”

Disc 2

1. “Drowning Shadows”
2. “Love Is a Losing Game”
3. “Nirvana”
4. “How Will I Know?”
5. “Omen (Acoustic)” feat. Disclosure
6. “Latch” feat. Disclosure (Live from Madison Square Garden, New York)
7. “Stay With Me” feat. Mary J. Blige
8. “I’m Not The Only One” feat. A$AP Rocky
9. “Lay Me Down” feat. John Legend