Jordin Sparks Snaps Up Best New Artist VMA, Plus Ne-Yo and Chris Brown Earn New VMA Nominations

Jordin Sparks, Ne-Yo and Chris Brown can each add another MTV Video Music Award nomination to their growing list of awards nods this year. Sparks, whose single “No Air” continues to hold strong on the charts, earned a Best New Artist nomination for this years MTV Video Music Awards this week. The American Idol winner joins fellow Best New Artist nominees Katy Perry, Tokio Hotel, Taylor Swift and Miley Cyrus who were nominated by votes in MTV’s latest round of online voting. In addition to Best New Artist nominees, fans selected Chris Brown and Ne-Yo as nominees for Best Dancing In A Video. Brown is nominated for his footwork in “Forever” while Ne-Yo earns some credibility for his gentlemanly steps in “Closer.” The R&B duo will face off with Madonna (4 Minutes), The Pussycat Dolls (When I Grow Up), and Danity Kane (Damaged) at the award show, which as previously announced, airs on September 7th. Categories open this week for viewer voting are “Best Rock Video” and “Video of the Year.”


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →