Soundtrack Tracklist For ‘Southside With You’ Revealed, Features a John Legend Newbie

From the forthcoming film Southside With You, Columbia Records has released the soundtrack tracklist for the movie, both which will be available at digital retailers and in theaters respectfully on August 26th.

Southside With You is inspired by the day-long first date of President Barack and First Lady Michelle Obama in the summer of 1989. Parker Sawyers (Snowden, Zero Dark Thirty) and Tika Sumpter (Ride Along 2, TV’s “The Haves and Have Nots”) star as the future U.S. President and First Lady.

The nine-track soundtrack features only one original song titled “Start” created especially for the film written by Grammy and Oscar-winning recording artist, John Legend, who also serves as executive producer on the film.

President of IM Global Music and music supervisor of the film, David Schulhof, says in a statement: “In “Start” John Legend wrote and recorded an incredibly soulful love theme for the film.”

The rest of soundtrack is comprised of R&B, hip hop, and soul gems and classics, including “Miss You Much” (Janet Jackson), “A Love Like Yours (Don’t Come Knocking Everyday)” (Martha Reeves and The Vandellas), “Hey Young World” (Slick Rick), “Keep On Movin” (Soul II Soul), “Close The Door” (Teddy Pendergrass), and more.
Peep the track list and the trailer below!

1. “Start” John Legend
2. “Miss You Much” Janet Jackson
3. “A Love Like Yours (Don’t Come Knocking Everyday)” Martha Reeves and The Vandellas
4. “Hey Young World” Slick Rick
5. “Keep On Movin’” Soul II Soul
6. “Nite And Day” Al B. Sure!
7. “Moanin’ And Groanin’” Bill Withers
8. “Close The Door” Teddy Pendergrass
9. “I Gave To You” The Delfonics