SWV, Jaheim, Raheem DeVaughn, Others To Perform at 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards

The 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards will air on Easter Sunday April 20, announced TV One on Monday (April 14). The show highlights “the accomplishments of men and women who have significantly contributed to enhancing the quality of life in fields such as law, religion, politics, public service, sports and entertainment.”

Hosted by actor Laz Alonso and actress Melissa De Sousa, this year’s honorees include Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff (Award-Winning Producers / Song Writers), DeVon Franklin (Senior Vice President, Columbia Tristar Pictures), Alfre Woodard (Academy Award nominated actress), The honorable Kamala Harris (Attorney General of California), Charles J. Ogletree, Jr. (Harvard Law Professor), The McKissack Sisters (Co-Presidents, McKissack & McKissack), Steve Pemberton (Vice President & Chief Diversity Officer, Walgreens) the Bronner Brothers Family (Entrepreneurs), and the William Sisters (Entrepreneurs).

The night will be chock full of performances by Amber Riley, Melle Mel, Kurtis Blow, Kid N’ Play, Chubb Rock, Stephanie Mills, Candice Glover, Carl Thomas, Jaheim, Joe, SWV, Lyfe Jennings, Billy Paul, Raheem DeVaughn, Donnie McClurkin, Smokie Norful and the Trumpet Awards Orchestra under the direction of James “Big Jim” Wright.

Tune in at 8pm ET on Sunday, April 20 on TV One to watch the broadcast, and check out the promo below.