TV One Announces NAACP Image Awards Nominations; Robin Thicke, Janelle Monae Among Leaders

Yesterday (Jan 9) marked TV One’s presentation to the Television Critics Association during its Winter 2014 Press Tour in Pasadena, CA to announce the nominees for The 45TH NAACP Image Awards. Actress-singer KeKe Palmer, along with David Oyelowo (“Lee Daniels’ ‘The Butler’”), Joe Morton (ABC’s “Scandal”), Bresha Webb (TV One’s “Love That Girl”), Gina Torres (USA’s “Suits”), NAACP Image Awards Committee Chairman Leonard James, and President and CEO of TV One Alfred Liggins announced the categories in Televison, Recording, Literature, Motion Picture, Documentary, Writing, and Directing.

Robin Thicke, Janelle Monae and John Legend are the biggest nominees in music field as they score four nominations each. Other nominees include Ariana Grande (Outstanding New Artist), Toni Braxton and Babyface (Outstanding Duo/Group/Collaboration for "Hurt You"), Beyonce Knowles, Mary J. Blige, Ledisi (Outstanding Female Artist), Boney James (Outstanding Jazz Album for "The Beat"), Gloria Estefan (Outstanding World Music Album for "The Standards") and Tamela Mann (Outstanding Gospel Album for "Best Day Deluxe Edition").

The NAACP Image Awards celebrates the accomplishments of people of color in the fields of television, music, literature and film and also honors individuals or groups who promote social justice through creative endeavors. “This has been an incredible year from the artistic community, with phenomenal contributions across the board from the music, television, motion picture, and literature genres that have the power and impact to drive social change,” stated Roslyn M. Brock, Chairman of the NAACP. “The NAACP Image Awards provides an excellent venue to recognize those who make a difference through art and activism, and we are excited to honor and celebrate this caliber of talent."

Winners will be voted upon by NAACP members and announced when the envelopes are opened on Friday, February 21 during the Awards Ceremony for non-televised categories. The remaining categories will be announced LIVE on stage during the two-hour star-studded TV One telecast on Saturday, February 22 (9:00 p.m. ET/PT tape-delayed). The telecast will also include a one-hour pre-show airing live from the red carpet (8:00 p.m. ET/PT tape-delayed).

Founded in 1909, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is the nation’s oldest and largest civil rights organization. The organization’s half-million adult and youth members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities and monitor equal opportunity in the public and private sectors.

Check out the list of nominees in the Recording (music) category below, and the complete list of nominees at

Outstanding New Artist

  • Ariana Grande (Republic Records)
  • Candice Glover (19 Recordings/Interscope Records)
  • K. Michelle (Atlantic Records)
  • RaVaughn Brown (Columbia Records)
  • Zendaya (Hollywood Records)

Outstanding Male Artist

  • Bruno Mars (Atlantic Records)
  • Charlie Wilson (RCA Records)
  • John Legend (Columbia Records)
  • Justin Timberlake (RCA Records)
  • Robin Thicke (Star Trak/Interscope)

Outstanding Female Artist

  • Beyoncé (Columbia Records)
  • India.Arie (Motown Records)
  • Janelle Monáe (Bad Boy/Atlantic)
  • Ledisi (Verve Records)
  • Mary J Blige (Verve Records/Interscope)

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration

  • "#Beautiful" – Mariah Carey feat. Miguel (Island Def Jam)
  • "Blurred Lines" – Robin Thicke feat. T.I. & Pharrell (Star Trak/Interscope)
  • "Fire We Make" – Alicia Keys feat. Maxwell (RCA Records)
  • "Hurt You" – Toni Braxton feat. Babyface (Motown Records)
  • "Suit & Tie" – Justin Timberlake feat. Jay-Z (RCA Records)

Outstanding Jazz Album

  • "Summer Horns" – Dave Koz, Gerald Albright, Mindi Abair, Richard Elliot (Concord Records)
  • "The Beat" – Boney James (Concord Records)
  • "The Messenger" – Kevin Eubanks (Mack Avenue Records)
  • "The Morning After: A Musical Love Journey" – Najee (Shanachie)
  • "The Songs of Stevie Wonder" – SFJAZZ Collective (SFJAZZ Records)

Outstanding Gospel Album – (Traditional or Contemporary)

  • "20 Year Celebration Volume 1 – Best For Last" – Donald Lawrence (Quietwater Entertainment/eOne Music)
  • "Azusa: The Next Generation" – Hezekiah Walker (RCA Inspiration)
  • "Best Days Deluxe Edition" – Tamela Mann (Tillymann Music)
  • "Good God" – Shirley Caesar (eOne Music)
  • "Music From the Motion Picture Black Nativity" – Various (RCA Inspiration)

Outstanding World Music Album

  • "Coming from a Lady" – Lady Ele (13 Black Records)
  • "Live At The Royal Albert Hall" – Emeli Sande (Capitol)
  • "Natalie Cole en Español" – Natalie Cole (Verve Records)
  • "Sing To The Moon" – Laura Mvula (Columbia Records)
  • "The Standards" – Gloria Estefan (Masterworks)

Outstanding Music Video

  • "Cocoa Butter" – India.Arie (Motown Records)
  • "Fire We Make" – Alicia Keys feat. Maxwell (RCA Records)
  • "Made To Love" – John Legend (Columbia Records)
  • "Q.U.E.E.N." – Janelle Monáe feat. Erykah Badu (Bad Boy/Atlantic)
  • "Treasure" – Bruno Mars (Atlantic Records)

Outstanding Song

  • "All Of Me" – John Legend (Columbia Records)
  • "Blurred Lines " – Robin Thicke feat. T.I. & Pharrell (Star Trak/Interscope)
  • "Fire We Make" – Alicia Keys feat. Maxwell (RCA Records)
  • "Q.U.E.E.N." – Janelle Monáe feat. Erykah Badu (Bad Boy/Atlantic)
  • "Treasure" – Bruno Mars (Atlantic Records)

Outstanding Album

  • "20/20 Experience – The Complete Experience" – Justin Timberlake (RCA Records)
  • "Blurred Lines" – Robin Thicke (Star Trak/Interscope)
  • "Love In The Future" – John Legend (Columbia Records)
  • "Love, Charlie" – Charlie Wilson (RCA Records)
  • "The Electric Lady" – Janelle Monáe (Bad Boy/Atlantic)