Jill Scott, Beyonce Lead 43rd NAACP Image Award Nominations

The light is shining on Jill Scott and Beyonce, who lead this year’s pack of NAACP Image Award nominees.

Announced Thursday morning in Beverly Hills, CA, music related nominations also went to breakthrough R&B group Mindless Behavior, Mary J. Blige, Wynter Gordon, “21” singer Adele, Chris Brown, Jennifer Hudson, Melanie Fiona and Gospel duo Mary Mary.

Thanks to “The Light of the Sun,” her fourth studio album, Jill Scott earned a leading four NAACP Image Award nominations. Those nods include Outstanding Song, Female Artist and Music Video. Beyonce ties Scott with four nominations as well, sharing all of the aforementioned categories and Outstanding Album (“4”).

Mindless Behavior, Diggy Simmons and Wynter Gordon are honored with nominations for Outstanding New Artist, following breakout efforts including “#1 Girl”. America’s Got Talent winner Landau Eugene Murphy and The Sing Off winners Committed join them in the ‘New Artist’ field.

The Queen of Hip Hop Soul, Mary J. Blige and Jennifer Hudson earned three nods a piece. Among them, Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration for “Mr. Wrong” (ft. Drake) and Outstanding Album for “I Remember Me”.

The 43rd Annual NAACP Image Awards will broadcast Friday, February 17 at 8pm on NBC.

See music-related nominations below.

Outstanding New Artist
Committed (Epic)
Diggy Simmons (Atlantic Records)
Landau Eugene Murphy, Jr. (Columbia Records)
Mindless Behavior (Streamline/Conjunction/Interscope Records)
Wynter Gordon (Big Beat/Atlantic Records)

Outstanding Male Artist
Anthony Hamilton (RCA Records)
Bruno Mars (Elektra Records)
Cee Lo Green (Elektra Records)
Chris Brown (Jive Records)
Common (Warner Bros. Records)

Outstanding Female Artist
Beyoncé (Columbia Records)
Jennifer Hudson (Arista Records)
Jill Scott (Warner Bros. Records)
Ledisi (Verve Forecast)
Mary J. Blige (Geffen)

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration
Boyz II Men (Benchmark Entertainment/MSM Music Group)
Cee Lo Green feat. Melanie Fiona (Elektra Records)
Mary J. Blige feat. Drake (Geffen)
Sounds of Blackness (Malaco Music Group)
The Roots (Island Def Jam Music Group)

Outstanding Jazz Album
“Chano y Dizzy” – Terence Blanchard and Poncho Sanchez (Concord Music Group Inc.)
“Friends” – Stanley Jordan (Mack Avenue Records)
“Guitar Man” – George Benson (Concord Jazz)
“Legacy” – Gerald Wilson (Mack Avenue Records)
“Road Show Vol. 2” – Sonny Rollins (Emarcy)

Outstanding Gospel Album – (Traditional or Contemporary)
“Becoming” – Yolanda Adams (N House Music Group)
“Church on the Moon” – Deitrick Haddon (Verity Gospel Music Group)
“Hello Fear” – Kirk Franklin (Verity Gospel Music Group)
“Something Big” – Mary Mary (Columbia Records)
“The Journey” – Andraé Crouch (RiverPhlo Entertainment)

Outstanding World Music Album
“Afrodiaspora” – Susana Baca (Luaka Bop)
“Carnival Fever” – Brother B (King Chero Records)
“Live at 2011 New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival” – Boukman Eksperyans (MunckMix, Inc.)
“Sounds of Blackness” – Sounds of Blackness (Malaco Music Group)
“The First Grader” – Alex Heffes (Varese Sarabande)

Outstanding Music Video
“25/8” – Mary J. Blige (Geffen)
“Hear My Call” – Jill Scott (Warner Bros. Records)
“I Was Here” – Beyoncé (Columbia Records)
“Someone Like You” – Adele (Columbia Records)
“Where You At” – Jennifer Hudson (Arista Records)

Outstanding Song
“Best Thing I Never Had” – Beyoncé (Columbia Records)
“Fool for You feat. Melanie Fiona” – Cee Lo Green (Elektra Records)
“I Smile” – Kirk Franklin (Verity Gospel Music Group)
“So In Love feat. Anthony Hamilton” – Jill Scott (Warner Bros. Records)
“Someone Like You” – Adele (Columbia Records)

Outstanding Album
“4” – Beyoncé (Columbia Records)
“F.A.M.E” – Chris Brown (Jive Records)
“I Remember Me” – Jennifer Hudson (Arista Records)
“Lasers” – Lupe Fiasco (1st & 15th/Atlantic Records)
“The Light of the Sun” – Jill Scott (Warner Bros. Records)