John Legend, Angie Stone, Mary Mary & More Team with E1 for ‘Revolution’ Soundtrack

A host of R&B stars have teamed with eOne Music/Blacksmith Music for the collaborative soundtrack to the upcoming film “Soundtrack For a Revolution.” John Legend, Angie Stone, Joss Stone, Mary Mary and company have recorded classic freedom songs for the album, due January 31, 2001.

Executive produced by Corey Smyth, ‘Soundtrack For a Revolution’ celebrates the vitality of this music and features contemporary artists singing their renditions of freedom songs that were prevalent in the civil rights movement.

The film Soundtrack for a Revolution tells the story of the American civil rights movement through its powerful music – the freedom songs protesters sang on picket lines, in mass meetings, in paddy wagons and in jail cells as they fought for justice and equality. Directed by Bill Guttentag and Dan Sturman (Nanking), and executive produced by Danny Glover, Soundtrack for a Revolution is a vibrant blend of heart-wrenching interviews, dramatic images, and thrilling contemporary performances – a film of significance, energy and power.

The tentative soundtrack (subject to change):

1. Wade In The Water performed by Angie Stone
2. Eyes On The Prize performed by Joss Stone
3. This Maybe The Last Time performed by Anthony Hamilton & The Blind Boys Of Alabama
4. We Shall Not Be Moved performed by Mary Mary
5. Will The Circle Be Unbroken performed by Richie Havens
6. Turn Me Around performed by The Roots & TV On The Radio
7. Woke Up This Am performed by John Legend
8. The State Of Mississippi performed by Wyclef Jean
9. We Shall Over Come performed by Anthony Hamilton, Blind Boys of Alabama, Joss Stone, The Roots, Mary Mary & Richie Havens


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →