Seal to Kick Off 2012 with New Album ‘Soul 2’

Grammy winner Seal is gearing up for the release of his eighth studio album, ‘Soul 2,’ slated for on January 31, 2012, via Warner Bros. Records. The set, which is a project covering a collection of romantic soul classics primarily from the ’70s, is lead by the first single “Let’s Stay Together,” performed by Marvin Gaye.

On ‘Soul 2,’ Seal teams with long-time collaborator, producer Trevor Horn, to record “Lean on Me” (Bill Withers), “Love Here Don’t Live Here Anymore” (Rose Royce), “Love T.K.O.” (Teddy Pendergrass), “Oh Girl,” (The Chi-Lites), “Ooh Baby Baby” (The Miracles), “What’s Goin’ On” (Marvin Gaye), “Wishing On A Star” (Rose Royce). Seal also enlisted legendary producer/songwriter David Foster and Jochem van der Saag to produce “Back Stabbers” (The O’Jays), “I’ll Be Around” (The Spinners), “Let’s Stay Together” (Al Green), and “Love Won’t Let Me Wait” (The Delfonics), all of which were recorded in Los Angeles.

“In my twenty years on a journey in the music industry, two things remain constants, the voice and more importantly, the song. I continue to make music because of the chance that this day could indeed be the day I write another great song or have the opportunity to sing one. The songs on Soul 2 are a natural evolution in the arc of soul music from the songs on the first Soul album — and they are all-time classics,” said Seal. “One more very important reason why I still make music is the ‘gift of collaboration’. I’ve been fortunate to work with two such industry greats as Trevor Horn and David Foster on this album and I they continue to inspire me each and every day.”Horn says “Working with Seal is like making music again….even I’d buy this record!”

“While still reeling from the success of Soul, it was even more exciting to have the opportunity to record more of some of the greatest songs ever written,” Foster says. “I am positive fans will not be disappointed in our selection and again, Seal’s unique, raw, and, yes, sexy approach to these great classics. I am delighted to share production duties, along with Jochem van der Saag, with one of my all-time favorite record producers, Trevor Horn. His musical history with Seal is rich and runs very deep. Together I believe they made some of the greatest records ever, by anyone. They led, they didn’t follow.”

‘Soul 2’ Tracklisting:

1. Wishing On A Star
2. Love T.K.O.
3. Ooh Baby Baby
4. Let’s Stay Together
5. What’s Goin’ On
6. Love Don’t Live Here Anymore
7. Back Stabbers
8. I’ll Be Around
9. Love Won’t Let Me Wait
10. Lean On Me
11. Oh Girl


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →