Maxwell, Keri Hilson Lead Soul Train Award Nominees

Chart-topping R&B singers Maxwell and Keri Hilson lead nominees for the forthcoming 2009 Soul Train Awards. Up for four awards a piece, the duo ties with Beyonce in categories ranging from Album of the Year to Best Collaboration. Set to air on the recently launched network, Centric, the 2009 Soul Train Awards are due to premiere November 29, recognizing the best in music over the last year. Maxwell, celebrating his 12th week atop the Billboard R&B/Hip Hop songs chart, joins Beyonce in leading the celebration’s top categories Song of the Year (“Pretty Wings,” “Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It)”), Record of the Year (“Pretty Wings,” “Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It)”), and Album of the Year (Blacksummers’night, I Am… Sasha Fierce). He also scores a nomination for Best R&B/Soul Artist Male. Keri Hilson, recognized for the spring 2009 debut “In A Perfect World,” joins Beyonce in leading women in music with nominations for Best R&B/Soul Artist Female, Song of the Year (“Turnin Me On”), Record of the Year (Knock You Down”) and Best Collaboration (“Knock You Down”). Drake, Ne-Yo, Jamie Foxx, Sean Paul, Movado, Serani, Mario, Trey Songz, Keyshia Cole, Charlie Wilson, Musiq Soulchild, and Robin Thicke are also nominated (see a full list of nominees below). As previously reported on Singersroom, Chaka Khan, L.A. Reid, Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds and Charlie Wilson will be honored with special musical tributes during the show. Presenters, performers and more information will follow at a later date. BEST NEW ARTIST Drake Jazmine Sullivan Keri Hilson Ryan Leslie Solange BEST R&B/SOUL ARTIST FEMALE Beyonce Chrisette Michele Jennifer Hudson Ledisi Whitney Houston BEST MALE R&B/SOUL MALE Charlie Wilson Maxwell Musiq Soulchild Raphael Saadiq Robin Thicke SONG OF THE YEAR “God in Me” – Mary Mary “Pretty Wings” – Maxwell “Single Ladies (Put a ring on it)” – Beyonce “Spotlight” – Jennifer Hudson “Turnin Me On” – Keri Hilson/ ft Lil Wayne ALBUM OF THE YEAR Beyonce – I am… Sasha Fierce (Platinum) Sony Music Jamie Foxx – Intuition (Platinum) J Records Kanye West – 808s & Heartbreak (Platinum) Roc-A-Fella/Def Jam Maxwell – Blacksummer’s Night (Gold) Sony Music Ne-Yo – Year of the Gentleman RECORD OF THE YEAR (SONGWRITER AWARD) Beyonce – “Single Ladies (Put a ring on it)” Drake – “Best I ever had” Jamie Foxx Ft/T-Pain – “Blame it” Keri Hilson – “Knock You Down” Maxwell – “Pretty Wings” BEST REGGAE ARTIST AWARD Movado Sean Paul Serani Taurus Riley Ziggy Marley CENTRIC AWARD – SOUL APPROVED/UNDERGROUND Corneille Eric Roberson Laura Izibor Maysa The Knux BEST GOSPEL PERFORMANCE MALE, FEMALE OR GROUP BeBe and CeCe Winans – “Close To You” Fred Hammond f/John P Kee – “They That Wait” Marvin Sapp – “Praise Him in Advance” Mary Mary – “God In Me” Smokie Norful – “Justified” BEST COLLABORATION Keri Hilson featuring Kanye West & Ne-Yo – “Knock you Down” Keyshia Cole featuring Monica – “Trust” Mario featuring Gucci Mane and Sean Garrett – “Break up” Mary Mary featuring Kierra (KiKi) Sheard – “God In Me” Trey Songz featuring Drake – “Successful” ENTERTAINER OF THE YEAR Michael Jackson


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →