Spike Lee, Tyler Perry, Polk Earn NAACP Image Award Director Nominations

Spike Lee, Tyler Perry and Patrick Ian Polk are among nominees for this year’s NAACP Image Awards. According to Image Award organizers, Spike Lee’s ‘Miracle Of St. Anna’; Tyler Perry’s ‘The Family That Preys’; and Patrick Ian Polk’s ‘Noah’s Arc: Jumping the Broom’ are among those nominated in the award’s three directing categories. In addition to Lee, Perry and Polk, motion picture directors Darnell Martin (‘Cadillac Records’) and Gina Prince Bythewood (‘The Secret Life of Bees’) will also compete for Best Director- motion picture. In the TV Comedy series category, Ali LeRoi for the “Everybody Hates the Port Authority” episode of “Everybody Hates Chris”; Ken Whittingham for the “Seth Green Day” episode of “Entourage”; Kevin Sullivan for the “MILF Island” episode of “30 Rock”; Tracee Ellis Ross for the “What’s Black-A-Lackin” episode of “Girlfriends” and Victor Nelli, Jr. for the “Crush’d” episode of “Ugly Betty.” Nominated for directing dramatic series episodes are Anthony Hemingway, “Heroes — Chapter Five: Angels and Monsters”; Eriq LaSalle, “Law & Order: SVU — PTSD,”; Ernest Dickerson, “Lincoln Heights — The Day Before Tomorrow”; Paris Barclay, “In Treatment — Alex-Week 8” and Seth Mann, “The Wire — The Dickensian Aspect.” The NAACP will also honor artists Elizabeth Catlett-Mora, Jonathan Green and Sam Gilliam who will be presented with its Key of Life Award at the ceremonies, which will be broadcast live by Fox from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. Each artist has created a limited 100-print-edition lithograph, with a percentage of the proceeds donated to the NAACP, which is celebrating its 100th anniversary. SRC: theHollywood Reporter/NAACP Image Awards


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →