ASCAP Crowns Timbaland, Honors Ne-Yo, Fabolous, Thicke

Timbaland received the Songwriter of the Year Award at Monday’s ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards. The awards which honor the best in R&B and Soul also awarded singers Robin Thicke and Ne Yo amidst performances from Raheem DeVaughn, The Dream and J. Holiday. Timbaland who recently married his publicist partner in Aruba, was recognized for his work on four songs including Omarion’s “Icebox,” Justin Timberlake’s “My Love” and “Until the End of Time,” as well as Fabolous featuring Ne Yo’s hit “Make Me Better.” The latter of the four “Make Me Better” also earned Rap Song of the Year. Robin Thicke, whose new album “Something Else” was recently pushed back to a September release picked up the R&B/Hip-Hop Song of the Year for the hit single “Lost Without You” while Mims was awarded Ringtone of the Year for his single “This Is Why I’m Hot.” Celebrating their 25th anniversary, New Edition members Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Bobby Brown, Ralph Tresvant, Ronnie DeVoe and Johnny Gill were presented with the Golden Note Award by writer/producer Maurice Starr and ASCAP CEO John LoFrumento. Rounding out the evening, hosted by songwriter Johnta Austin, were performances by a diverse lineup that included Shawty Lo, The Dream, J. Holiday, Raheem DeVaughn, Floetry founding member Marsha Ambrosius and Flo-Rida.


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →