R&B Singer Erykah Badu Launches New Single With ‘Vortex U.S. Tour’

Multi-platinum Universal Motown artist, Erykah Badu keeps the steam rolling in the midst of her latest CD New Amerykah, as she releases her second single, “Soldier.” “Soldier,” reminiscent of Baduizm’s “Other Side of the Game,” tells the story of a boy struggling to resist the gang-banging evils of his neighborhood block. Equipped with a thumping bass line and haunting flutes brought to life by producer Kareem Riggins, the single transforms into a protest song by the last verse as Badu poetically chants droplets of wisdom, “You got the wake up call/ When you heard the buildings fall” and “To my boys in Iraqi fields/This ain’t no time to kill.” After a four year recording hiatus, the single arrives at the height of Badu’s accolades for New Amerykah Part I (4th World War), which debuted at #2 on the charts, selling over 125,000 units in the first week. Badu ushers in the single’s release with “The Vortex Tour,” a whirlwind, twelve-week, 49-city, 42-show tour that kicks off May 4th in Detroit, Michigan and ends June 15th in Albuquerque, New Mexico. “Most of the shows are in or near cities with naturally strong energy fields, and if they’re not,” said Badu, “we’re going to create them with the music.” Badu will perform songs from New Amerykah as well as some of her most popular hits. The four-time Grammy award winner will then head off to Europe for tour dates which start June 25th in Copenhagen, Denmark and end on July 17th in Belgium. Appropriately, the Philly-based band The Roots will be the opening act for many of the dates, promoting their new album Rising Down. Badu, who has collaborated with The Roots in the past, features The Roots drummer Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson on several New Amerykah tracks. The Vortex Tour : North & South America/Canada Sunday, May 04, 2008 – Detroit, MI – Fox Theater Monday, May 05, 2008 – Toronto, Canada – Massey Hall Tuesday, May 06, 2008 – Montreal, Canada – Jacques Cartier Park Thursday, May 08, 2008 – Boston, MA – Orpheum Theater Friday, May 09, 2008 – New York, NY – Radio City Music Hall Saturday, May 10, 2008 – Baltimore, MD – Pier Six Pavilion Sunday, May 11, 2008 – Philadelphia, PA – Tower Theater Wednesday, May 14, 2008 – Washington, DC – Constitution Hall Thursday, May 15, 2008 – Washington, DC – Constitution Hall Friday, May 16, 2008 – Norfolk, VA – Chrysler Hall Saturday, May 17, 2008 – Greensboro, NC – Special Events Center Sunday, May 18, 2008 – Richmond, VA – Landmark Theater Tuesday, May 20, 2008 – Boca Raton, FL – Mizner Park Amphitheater Wednesday, May 21, 2008 – San Juan, PR – Coliseum of Puerto Rico Friday, May 23, 2008 – Atlanta, GA – Fox Theater Saturday, May 24, 2008 – Montgomery, AL – Jubilee City Festival Sunday, May 25, 2008 – Aruba – Soul Beach Music Festival Tuesday, May 27, 2008 – Nashville, TN – Andrew Jackson Hall Wednesday, May 28, 2008 – Memphis, TN – Orpheum Theater Thursday, May 29, 2008 – St. Louis, MO – Fox Theater Friday, May 30, 2008 – Chicago, IL – Chicago Theater Saturday, May 31, 2008 – Chicago, IL – Chicago Theater Monday, June 02, 2008 – Denver, CO – Fillmore Tuesday, June 03, 2008 – Salt Lake City, UT – The Depot Thursday, June 05, 2008 – Redmond, WA – Marymoor Amphitheater Friday, June 06, 2008 – Vancouver, Canada – Commodore Ballroom Sunday, June 08, 2008 – Oakland, CA – Paramount Theater Monday, June 09, 2008 – Oakland, CA – Paramount Theater Tuesday, June 10, 2008 – San Diego, CA – Humphreys Thursday, June 12, 2008 – Los Angeles, CA – Greek Theater Friday, June 13, 2008 – Las Vegas, NV – House of Blues Saturday, June 14, 2008 – Phoenix, AZ – Mesa Amphitheater Sunday, June 15, 2008 – Albuquerque, NM – Kiva Auditorium

Singersroom

Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →