Boyz II Men Inks With Decca For Motown Album, Group Taking Fans Back to the Old Days

Boyz II Men is back after a long hiatus from the US music scene. The veteran R&B group has signed a deal with Decca, which will release there new album “Motown: A Journey Through Hitsville USA” November 13. The project was produced by “American Idol” judge Randy Jackson and also features Brian McKnight on an as-yet-unnamed track. On “Hitsville,” the group covers a collection of Motown classics from the ’60s and ’70s like Marvin Gaye’s “Ain’t Nothin’ Like the Real Thing” and “Mercy Mercy Me,” the Temptations’ “Just My Imagination,” Michael Jackson’s “Got To Be There” and Smokey Robinson’s “Tracks of My Tears.” The album will also include acappella versions of Stevie Wonder’s “ribbon in the Sky” and Boyz II Men’s own “End of the Road.” “Hitsville” is the follow-up to 2006’s “The Remedy,” which was released exclusively in Japan and only via the band’s Web site in the United States. Boyz II Men hasn’t recorded for a major label since 2002’s Arista set “Full Circle.” Boyz II Men was originally signed to Motown Records from 1990 to 2000, at which point it was moved to parent label Universal Records. After the 2000 album Nathan Shawn Michael Wanya, Boyz II Men moved to Arista Records. In 2003, Michael McCary left the group due to chronic back problems resulting from scoliosis.


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →