Beyonce Knowles, Justin Timberlake MTV VMA Front Runners

(CBS/AP) R&B singer Beyonce Knowles and Justin Timberlake lead the pack of nominees for the MTV Video Music Awards with seven nods apiece, reported live by MTV Tuesday on the cable network’s countdown show “TRL.” The awards show will take place at the Palms Casino and Resort in Las Vegas on Sept. 9 at 9 p.m. ET. R&B singer Chris Brown was on set to announce the biggest category, video of the year. The nominees are Amy Winehouse: “Rehab”; Beyonce: “Irreplaceable”; Justice: “D.A.N.C.E.”; Justin Timberlake: “What Goes Around Comes Around”; Kanye West: “Stronger”; and Rihanna, featuring Jay-Z: “Umbrella.” Beyonce was also nominated for female artist of the year and for her collaboration with Shakira on “Beautiful Liar.” Timberlake was nominated for male artist of the year and “most earth-shattering collaboration” for pairing with Timbaland for “Sexy Back.” West landed five nominations, including male artist of the year. He has often appeared prickly about losing awards, and on Tuesday he was still sore over being snubbed last year for his Evel Knievel spoof video “Touch the Sky.” (In 2005, he did win best male video for “Jesus Walks.”) Now he finds himself competing again with the dance duo Justice, which beat him out for best video at the MTV Europe awards in November. During that show, he jumped on stage during their acceptance speech in protest. But, West said he feels that the two new videos they are competing with are more evenly balanced. “(Their) video is completely genius,” he said. West was nominated for best male artist along with Akon, Timberlake, TI, and Robin Thicke. Rihanna also was nominated for five awards, including best female artist. She’ll be competing in that category against Winehouse, Beyonce, Fergie, Nelly Furtado, and Rihanna. Winehouse received three nominations including one for best new artist along with Carrie Underwood, Gym Class Heroes, Lily Allen, and Peter Bjorn and John. “It’s pretty surreal,” Allen said from the casino. “I’ve never been to Las Vegas before … it’s pretty crazy!” The announcement featured a live remote from the casino in Las Vegas and a press conference set up in the “TRL” studios in New York. The show wrapped with a performance by West. There are five new categories in this year’s awards including monster single of the year, which was the first nomination announced. The category itself is monster, with 10 nominees competing for the award. They include: Avril Lavigne’s “Girlfriend,” Daughtry’s “Home,” Fall Out Boy’s “Thnks fr th Mmrs,” Lil Mama’s “Lipgloss (No Music),” Timbaland featuring Keri Hilson, D.O.E. and Sebastian with “The Way I Are,” T-Pain featuring Young Joc with “Buy You A Drank,” Plain White T’s “Hey There Delilah,” Rihanna featuring Jay-Z with “Umbrella,” MIMS’ “This Is Why I’m Hot,” and Shop Boys’ “Party Like A Rock Star.”


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →