R&B Singer Akon to Repackage ‘Konvicted’ LP

R&B singer Akon is eyeing an Aug. 28 CD/DVD reissue for his multi-platinum selling sophomore LP, “Konvicted.” The CD portion will include three new songs, including “Sorry, Blame It on Me,” which debuted last week at a career-best No. 7 on the Billboard Hot 100. The new version also includes “Rush” featuring Kardinal Offishall, which will appear in the upcoming film “Rush Hour 3,” as well as a third, as-yet-unnamed new song, reports Billboard. The DVD features a documentary in which Akon visits his native Senegal, as well as videos for the album tracks “Smack That,” “I Wanna Love You” and “Don’t Matter.” Akon rose to fame in 2004 following the release of his single “Locked Up” from his debut album Trouble. Since the release of his second album, “Konvicted,” he has sold over 2.6 million copies in the United States and earned a Grammy Award nomination for the single “Smack That.” From July to September Akon will embark on his worldwide Konvicted Tour. In September, Akon will start on the Canadian leg of the ‘Good Girl Gone Bad’ Tour with R&B singer Rihanna.


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →