Goldenlane Records to Release Ike & Tina Turner’s Complete Pompeii Recordings From 1968-1969

If you are an Ike & Tina Turner fan (shame on you if you aren’t), then this should serve as great news for you.

Between 1960 and 1970, the groundbreaking, erratic, and turbulent couple/duo recorded music for a whopping ten plus record labels resulting in nearly 70 singles and some 20 albums. According to a press release, during these recordings Ike & Tina “toured regularly both here and abroad (reportedly averaging some 300 shows a year), made frequent television appearances, and managed to raise a family.”

Now that’s dedication to music!

Anyhow, from 1968-1969, the duo cut a plethora of songs with Pompeii Records, and now the catalog is available on a 3-CD set dubbed ‘The Complete Pompeii Recordings 1968-1969.’

The 3-CD box set will be available starting September 23 from Goldenlane Records, a division of Cleopatra Records, Inc.

Track List:

1. Bet’cha Can’t Kiss Me (Just One Time)
2. Ain’t Nobody’s Business
3. It Sho Ain’t Me
4. Too Hot To Hold
5. A Fool In Love
6. I Better Get Ta Steppin’
7. Shake a Tail Feather
8. So Fine
9. We Need An Understanding
10. You’re So Fine

1. Cussin’, Cryin’ And Carryin’ On
2. Poor Little Fool
3. So Blue Over You
4. Nothing You Can Do Boy (To Change My Way)
5. I’m Fed Up
6. You Got What You Wanted
7. Make ‘Em Wait
8. Beauty Is Just Skin Deep
9. Thinking Black
10. Black Beauty
11. I Better Get Ta Steppin’

1. Thinking Black
2. Black Beauty
3. Ghetto Funk
4. Blacks’ Alley
5. Getting Nasty
6. Black Angel
7. Funky Mule
8. Philly Dog
9. Scotty Souling
10. Up Hard
11. Nuttin’ Up
12. Freedom Sound

To purchase “The Complete Pompeii Recordings 1968-1969” 3-CD Box: IkeAndTinaTurnerBoxCD

Gary Gentles

Founder and Creator of and Follow me on Instagram at @gary.gentles.

View all posts by Gary Gentles →