[PREMIERE] Terence Blanchard & The E-Collective ft. PJ Morton – I Ain’t Got Nothin’ But Time (Lyric Video)

Multiple Grammy-winning trumpeter and composer Terence Blanchard is readying his new album Breathless for May 26 featuring his new quintet, The E-Collective (Charles Altura on guitar, Fabian Almazan on piano and synths, Donald Ramsey on bass, and Oscar Seaton on drums.

This tune from the set is a treat for the ears; "I Ain’t Got Nothin’ But Time" features soulful vocalist and Maroon 5 band member PJ Morton. In a jazzy, R&B reworking of country legend Hank Williams' song of the same name, Morton offers seductive, soulful vocals backed by the smooth sounds of Blanchard and his collective, especially on the trumpet solo break. Sounds like a completely different song!

Breathless, which arrives on May 26th on Blue Note Records, is 13 tunes of originals, other covers, and two other tunes featuring the svelte vocals of PJ Morton. The album’s title is a statement piece with the title referencing “I Can’t Breathe,” the words of Eric Garner that have since echoed across the country in protest of discrimination.

Preorder Breathless above and catch Terrence and his E-Collective at The Jazz Standard in New York City on May 27 – May 31 at 7:30pm.