Trailblazers of Gospel Music Awards Honor Kirk Franklin & Hezehiak Walker

Gospel legends in the making, Kirk Franklin and Hezehiak Walker, were honored at Broadcast Music Inc’s (BMI) 13th annual Trailblazers of Gospel Music Awards Luncheon on January 13th in Nashville at Rocketown.

Over a dozen artists including Faith Evans, Fred Hammond, Kim Burrell, Marvin Sapp performed an inspiring musical tribute to the honorees.

In addition, Marvin Sapp was presented with the award for BMI’s Most-Performed Gospel Song of the Year for “The Best in Me.” Co-written by Sapp and Aaron Lindsey, the song topped gospel charts and achieved historic crossover success, climbing from no. 78 to no. 14 on Billboard’s Hot R&B/Hot Songs Chart – the biggest jump for a gospel hit since Billboard began using Nielsen SoundScan 18 years ago.

Sapp also surprised eventgoers by performing the song during the celebration.


Since 2005, Singersroom has been the voice of R&B around the world. Connect with us via social media below.

View all posts by Singersroom →