Categories: NewsR&B News

NeYo, Beyonce Earn MTV Video Music Awards Japan Nominations

Grammy Award-winning singer/songwriter Ne-Yo leads the pack of nominated international artists for this year’s MTV Video Music Awards Japan ! Tying only with Coldplay and Japanese pop singer Namie Amuro, Ne-Yo earned nods for 2008s “Year of the Gentleman” including Album of the Year and Best Male video. Beating out fellow nominees, who each earned at least one nomination, including Usher, Beyonce and Britney Spears, Ne-Yo also earned a nod for Best R&B Video. (see list of nominees below) Recent multi-Platinum certified stars Beyonce and Kanye West, picked up nods for their videos “If I Were A Boy” and “Heartless” respectively. Franz Ferdinand, Britney Spears and Katy Perry are up for two awards, as is local hip-hop artist Kreva. According to organizers, Perry will be making the trip to perform at this years show, slated to take place at the 12,000-capacity Saitama Super Arena, just north of Tokyo, along with Black Eyed Peas, Green Day and local artists Exile and 9mm Parabellum Bullet. Hip Hop artists T.I., Lil Wayne and Teriyaki Boyz were also nominated. The MTV Video Music Awards Japan 2009 will be held May 30. Best Male Video KANYE WEST “Heartless” KREVA “Akasatanahamayarawawon” MOTOHIRO HATA “Forever Song” NE-YO “Closer” USHER “Love in This Club feat. YOUNG JEEZY” Best Female Video BEYONCE “If I Were a Boy” BRITNEY SPEARS “Womanizer” HIKARU UTADA “Prisoner Of Love” NAMIE AMURO “NEW LOOK” THELMA AOYAMA “Nandomo” Best Video of the Year BRITNEY SPEARS “Womanizer” COLDPLAY “Viva La Vida” EXILE “Ti Amo (Chapter2)” NAMIE AMURO “NEW LOOK” SOUTHERN ALL STARS “I AM YOUR SINGER” Best R&B Video AKON “Right Now (NaNaNa)” JUJU feat. Spontania “Sunao ni Naretara” MILIYA KATO “19 Memories” NAMIE AMURO “Sexy Girl” Ne-Yo “Miss Independent” Best Hip Hop Video KANYE WEST “Heartless” KREVA “Akasatanahamayarawawon” LIL WAYNE “Lollipop feat.STATIC” TERIYAKI BOYZ® “ZOCK ON! feat.Pharrell & Busta Rhymes” T.I. “Live Your Life feat. RIHANNA” Best Collaboration Video ANNA TSUCHIYA feat. AI “Crazy World” MADONNA “4 Minutes feat. JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE & TIMBALAND” NELLY and FERGIE “Party People” SCHADARAPARR+KAELA KIMURA “Hey! Hey! Alright” T.I. “Live Your Life feat. RIHANNA” Best Album of the Year AYAKA “Sing to the Sky” COLDPLAY “Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends” HIKARU UTADA “Heart Station” Mr.Children “Supermarket Fantasy” NE-YO “Year of the Gentleman” For more on the MTV Video Music Awards Japan 2009 and a complete list of nominees visit MTVasia.com.